Northern logo

Northern Trains Limited is owned by DfT OLR Holdings Limited (DOHL), which took on the operation of Northern rail services on 1 March 2020.

Northern is owned by Northern Trains Ltd, a subsidiary of the Department for Transport’s public sector owning group, ‘DOHL.’ DOHL has responsibility for three rail companies, LNER, Northern Trains Limited and SE Trains ('Southeastern').

DOHL is committed to working closely with all aspects of the rail industry to ensure the continued provision of critical passenger rail services.

For more information about DOHL visit